Sidney Sheldon Master of The Game

Sidney Sheldon turns out good

Master of the Game is the third book of Sidney Sheldon that I have read. Or I say the first one. Because others two were “Chasing Tomorrow” and “The Tides of Memory”. Both were written jointly by Tilly Bagshawe and Sidney Sheldon. I read the “The Tides of Memory when I was going to Goa with my friends, and “Chasing Tomorrow” when we were returning.

I was not very impressed by the author after reading those two books. I even surfed reviews of the books to analyze why I did not like his writing. Eventually, I did not buy the more books of him.

I was at the Nehru Place (A very big computer/tech market in New Delhi), this book caught my eyes. And I cannot resist to buy it. 

After reading it, I realize that what I am doing wrong while reading it. 

As I already told you, I like reading slow books. The book that moves lazily, and explains the environment in detail. The three books I read of him were not in any way, slow. They are fast and thrilling. Sidney does not write melodrama, he writes Psyco-behaviours of humans. 

One thing I most admired in these three books were the clarity of characters. 

yep…

Because when one writes many characters, like George Martin, Cassandra Clare, the characters dissolve into each other. They do not show their true identity. As I have read in “Game of Thrones”, many characters look same to me. They all are brutal and without any moral. Cassandra Clare is fine… But she is a topic for some other time.

Zebra Crossing by Meg Vandermerwe : The first book I read in 2017.

Sidney’s characters, if not different from each other in every way, but they can be separated on many bases. They all have something unique to provide them a different light. They stand on their own legs and propose a strong presense.

Also, “The Tides of Memory” and “Master of The Game” contain stories with a long time span. I mean, the story starts with a character’s childhood time, and move on to his/her grand- or grand-grand-kid. This is like 100 years. In a book of Sidney Sheldon, if other books are like these two, you can experience the horse-carriages and also planes.  

Is not it interesting?

Not only the industrial development that can be seen behind the story but also the social development… for example, “Master of The Game” starts at a time when Black were slaves and all type social injustice were the regular things, and leads to the time a woman was running an empire and then end up with a girl having sex outside the marriage and husband being cool with it (until the water reaches up to the neck).

Sidney’s books might not be slow and elaborated, but they surely are the crazy one.  It is like an action happening in your mind. I hated most of the character in every book of him I read so far; they all were cunning, egoistic, self-absorbed and evil. This is his way of telling the story. That how far you will go to achieve what you want to achieve. How evil you are willing to turn into. How much monsters you can release into yourself…

The trick of Sidney’s storytelling, in his own words …

“I try to write my books so the reader can’t put them down,” he explained in a 1982 interview. “I try to construct them so when the reader gets to the end of it, he or she has to read just one more chapter. It’s the technique of the old Saturday afternoon serial: leave the guy hanging on the edge of the cliff at the end of the chapter.”

His writing style is journalistic, I would say… He does not divulge into detail until it is required to create a scene, but he uses minute and important information, to make the character real and believable… How he exactly do this, you have to read a book to understand it… Only then you will witness the character formation in few paragraphs in a genius way… 

Happy endings are not guaranteed.. but happy ending only happens in movies.

It is always sad when a good book ends.

The other two written with Tilly were not that fire as this one is. It is solely the book of Sidney. I am sure I am going to read more of his work. I am going to add to this post as I will read more books. 

Please leave comments to tell me your favorite book of Sidney and help me find my next best book of him to read…

Check all the books of Sidney Sheldon.

Amazon.in is giving a good sale on them. 

Rage of Angels

Are You Afraid of the Dark?

Tell Me your Dreams

Master of the Game

Nothing Lasts Forever

If Tomorrow Comes

The Best Laid Plans

Stranger in the Mirror

The Doomsday Conspiracy

Mistress of the Game

Morning, Noon and Night

The Tides of Memory

Memories of Midnight

Windmills of the Gods

Sky is Falling

The Sands of Time

there are more… 

3 thoughts on “Sidney Sheldon turns out good

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

