Carve The Mark

I am not a fan of Divergent series. I read the all four books of series but, except Divergent, no other book of Veronica Roth was good for me. I did not have any intention of reading Veronica Roth again but as once an old man said,

“If you want to make your God laugh, just tell him about your future plan.”

GR | Roth GR | Roth Blog

|Amazon|

The book came into my hands even before its release but I still ignored it, but every time this book comes to my peripheral view, I kind of wanted to read it. When you are working at the publication house, this happens a lot. Cover is so blue and blue is my favorite.
So one day I picked it and started reading it. After the first death and very confusing start, I started grasping the story. Veronica Roth sort of throws readers into the fictional Galaxy or Universe. As the back cover suggest, story develops around two people, both from the privileged families of their communities or countries.

There are two superpowers at this planet. Thuvhe and Shotet. Both are fighting for a long time (for what? Control of the planet? Revenge?).
Basically, story is about two people of different communities falling for love. Where male is destined to die for the sake of other community and female will bear all the pain to herself. See any Hindi movie and story is same. I am not saying Veronica Roth is watching Hindi movies, but all I am saying is that how it looks when I read it.

What is wrong with mother-son relationship ? In Divergent, Veronica did this to Tobias and now, to Akos. I can see where it is leading…

Let me tell you a little more about fictional Universe. Here a current is not some flow of electrons, but a visible blue light which connects solar system and is a source of energy of every living organism. As a science student and this book is a science fiction, I am expecting a little more explanation about this light from next books of series.

This light also provides everyone living person with a gift i.e. current gift (do not know if pun intended), a power, everyone develops at a certain age. Like Hogwarts letter, you get at the age of 11. It looks more like diseases than powers. Not feeling pain, or feeling pain every time, or disconnecting the blue light, or exchanging memories, .

(My theory: All this Universe is a hospital with each planet is different ward. And gifts are actually a form of mental/physical illness. Like Vas have CIPA, Cyra might have depression and Eijeh hallucinate and all and Ry might have Amnesia and Akos could be a Drugs that make patient relief.)

Both Cyra and Akos belonged to Fate-Favored families. Fate favoured meaning that oracle had seen their future same in every way a future is possible. That make them favourite, just because they know their future.. they do not even reveal it to anyone.
Akos fate is to die while protecting his rival country and Eijeh is going to be an Oracle. Their fate somehow goes viral and Cyra’s bro sends their THREE people to abduct them. Well, it happens and both brothers are now in Shotet. Cyra’s gifts was pain, that make her a strong weapon, anyone who touch her feel a tremendous pain, except our Hero Akos, whose touch is enough to kill your currentgift. Anyone remember Leech of X-Men.

Ryzek (bro) give Akos to Cyra so she can have some relief from pain. And the love story begins, covered with some trips to Soujurn, an event in which Shotet people pick up the garbage and unused stuff of every planet. They do it very proudly though. They prepare and follow the blue light as blue light also carry trash.
Story has nothing new for me. If I do say about the structure, it was not intriguing. The slow pace kills the flow; sometime make it impossible to even finish it. Science fiction with slow pace is not my type.
From the first murder and abductions, story does not move.

Where was my SPACE? In a spaceship or secret hallways.. (Let’s not talk about UNIVERSE because there is not much about to talk; it is not even a space-saga)

Veronica Roth spent the all language in naming the characters and places. Many I cannot even pronounce right I bet. So it is.
With slow place come responsibilities to make language deep or rich so the readers do not get bored. Language is also not very unique. Same as Divergent’s. Coloring up important parts and then covering up others.

But do I like the book?
I do not. But the thing is I am going to read the sequel because some books you make you read them despite the fact you know that you are not going to like them.

GoodReads | Veronika Roth GR | Veronica Roth Blog

|Amazon|

Favorite Quotes:

“Find other reason to go on,”I said. “it doesn’t have to bea good one, or a noble one. It just has to be a reason.”

It’s hard to know what’s is right in this life,” she said. “We do what we can, but what we really need is mercy. Do you know who taight me that?” A grin. “You.”

Blurb:

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s